Recycle Magazine Pages into Envelopes or Gift Sleeves

17 Dec

bohomag

STEP 1: Get a nice magazine with nice paper and graphic layouts that would like nice even folded up.

I found this boho magazine in a second-hand bookshop for php65 (less than $2). It had such pretty layout and graphics, and interesting, down-to-earth, earth-friendly articles. But I knew I was going to use it for some project. The loose leaf pages above it I got from another magazine of another issue:

gd019_cover1

STEP 2: Choose your page

STEP 3: Slice as close to binding as possible, with a cutter as much as possible. You don’t need a ruler, let the opposite page be your hand’s guide, for your hand  to rest on while you run the cutter along. Don’t worry if you didn’t make the cut deep enough, it feels good to pull it off easily from the binding 😉

STEP 4: Divide the page as it fits the intended gift or card.

DSCN1176

STEP 5: Fold simply into an envelope case (Note to self: post a set of detailed photos for this). Or search for envelope templates on the web. Cut the corners at angles, and one of the sections,  to make flaps easily. I used double-sided tape instead of glue for a faster and smoother finish (no unsightly bumps).

DSCN1178

I like to divide the tape to save 🙂

DSCN1180

STEP 6: Adorn. Pressed for time, I just punched out shapes from plain-colored contrasting paper and stuck it (with glue, this time) there. You can place it anywhere, and use flat-backed beads, ribbons and other scrapbooking material embellishments. Done!

DSCN1181

What the bell, I put two more

DSCN1184

I also wanted to use these ready-made angpao envelopes from Daiso, but these pages were so pretty! The chartreuse against the gingham, and the aqua….

For the earrings I bought here (the teachers), I cut a section from the back of the magazine to use as earrings backing. I love this print!

I made another envelope from a full black-&-white-photo page that just had a little pop of color from the text.

DSCN1174

Funny, but this issue was published way back in 2009, and this was the trend

DSCN1182

But it just recently got big here, and it’s all over the bazaars like this one, stores, and fashion blogs. No complaints, they do look nice.

Happy gift-giving!

One Response to “Recycle Magazine Pages into Envelopes or Gift Sleeves”

  1. marta2367 December 17, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    I have done this a lot, it never gets old with so many wonderful magazines!

Leave a comment

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.